What is a T Level? 

T Levels are qualifications approved and managed by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education. A T Level is a technical study programme, aimed at preparing young people for work, higher-level apprenticeships or higher education (HE). It comprises 5 key components:

• an approved Technical Qualification, which includes the opportunity to specialise in at least one occupational role

• a minimum of 315 hours of industry placement with an external employer

• English, mathematics and digital requirements; students will have to achieve a minimum of Level 2 mathematics and English in order to achieve a T Level

• Employability, Enrichment, and Pastoral (EEP) elements

Over the 2-year programme, students will develop threshold competence, which the Institute defines as: ‘The level of competence deemed by employers as sufficient to secure employment in roles relevant to an occupational specialism. Achievement of threshold competence signals that a learner is well placed to develop full occupational competence, with further support and development, once in work.’

To download the T Level Brochure click here

Career Pathways.

In 2022, 71% of students who applied to university secured a place, while other T Level graduates moved into employment and higher apprenticeships. Alternatively, students could progress to degree level study.

See individual T Level course details for career pathways for Adult Nursing, Midwifery, Civil Engineering or Surveying & Design.

Careers Page

Further Information.

If you require further information on any aspect of the course you should contact the following:

Ruth Mercy
Mrs Ruth Mercy,
Assistant Principal T Levels