This course is ideal for anyone wanting a career in the construction industry, specifically in surveying and design or civil engineering

T Levels are new qualifications that follow GCSEs and are equivalent to three A Levels. T Levels will combine classroom theory and practical learning, and are made up of the following:

  • Technical Qualification: Made up of Core and Specialist units.
  • Industry placement: of at least 315 hours (approximately 45 days) with an employer to make sure you have authentic experience of the workplace.

The Technical Qualification is the main classroom-based element of the T Level. During your two-year course, you will learn the core knowledge that underpins the sector, and you will also develop occupationally specific skills that will allow you to enter skilled employment within a specific occupation.

This T Level Technical Qualification has been developed in collaboration with employers, so the content meets the needs of industry and prepares you for work

Career Pathways.

In 2022, 71% of students who applied to university secured a place, while other T Level graduates moved into employment and higher apprenticeships.

Job roles at age 18 directly, after completing the T Level could include: Surveying Technician, Civil Engineering Design Technician, Digital Engineering Technician, Civil Engineering Technician, Building Services Engineering Design Technician, Architectural Technician

Alternatively, students could progress to degree level study and the following potential occupations:

Chartered Surveyor, Civil Engineer, Civil Engineering Site Management, Construction Quantity Surveyor, Construction Site Manager, Design and Construction Management, Architectural Assistant.

Careers Page

Further Information.

If you require further information on any aspect of the course you should contact the following:

Karen Byng
Mrs Karen Byng,
Director of Engineering
AB Tariq
Mr AB Tariq,
Subject Leader KS4 Vocational Engineering


Civil Engineering, Surveying and Design

Year 1 The course starts with CORE KNOWLEDGE.

The core component provides a broad understanding of the construction industry and covers the following topics:

  • health and safety
  • the science behind building design, surveying and planning
  • making accurate and appropriate measurements
  • construction methods
  • building regulations and standards
  • data management and information standards in construction
  • relationship management and customer service
  • how the Internet of Things (IoT) impacts construction
  • digital engineering techniques
  • mathematical techniques to solve construction problems
  • construction design principles and processes
  • the construction industry and its role in the economy
  • sustainability and the environmental impact of construction
  • business, commerce and corporate social responsibility

You will also learn about topics specific to design, surveying and planning, including:

  • project management
  • budgeting and resource allocation
  • procurement
  • risk management

The core component will be assessed by two exams and an employer set up project.

Year 2
You will specialise in either Civil Engineering OR Surveying and Design.

The occupational specialism will allow you to develop the relevant skills in preparation for your career in the construction sector. The occupational specialism is assessed by a project that is created in conjunction with employers. The content covers topics specific to that aspect of the construction sector, as follows:


• Measuring the built environment • Analysing the built environment • Designing the built environment • Verifying the delivery of the built environment

OR Civil Engineering

• Analysing civil engineering solutions • Designing civil engineering solutions • Verifying the delivery of civil engineering solutions

Grading and certification

When you complete your T Level you will get a nationally recognised certificate which will show your overall grade and a breakdown of what you have achieved.

Distinction*= 168 UCAS Points = AAA* A Level Equivalent

Distinction = 144 UCAS Points = AAA A Level Equivalent

Merit = 120 UCAS Points = BBB A Level Equivalent

Pass = 96UCAS Points =CCC A Level Equivalent